How Not To Warm Up Honey

Despite what your honey bear bottle tells you, honey doesn’t expire.  It may crystallize and get hard but it’s still as good as gold.  All you need to do is heat it and the thick, sticky, luscious nectar will start to flow again.A few words of caution regarding how you go about the reheating.  I recommend placing the bottle or jar of honey is a warm water bath.  Or, if you must, putting the honey bottle in the microwave for 10-15 second intervals, taking it out after each session, checking it’s consistency and only zapping it again if you really need to.

What I strongly don’t recommend it placing the poor, helpless honey bear in the microwave for 30 seconds then, putting it back in the microwave for another 90 seconds unattended.  I tried this approach and opened the microwave door to find a hot, spewing, honey fountain.  The honey boiled, the plastic contracted and the only way to release the pressure was for the honey to escape up and out.  Honey sprayed through it’s top in a glorious amber fountain, hitting the top of the microwave where it clung for a few precious moments before dripping in large gobs to the bottom of the microwave forming large pools of molten liquid.

I carefully grabbed the bottle.  The poor bear’s girth — and I’m sure his pride too — seized a size smaller than before.  His white lid now out of proportion with the rest of his body, his paws slapped against his head in ala Mr. Bill’s “Oh no!”

Nestled in the bottom of the kitchen garbage can Mr. Honey Bear can hopefully find some comfort in the fact that his death was not in vain.  I’ve learned my lesson, from now on all of my crystalized honey bears will be enjoying a warm, relaxing bath until their gooey goodness is ready to flow again.

3 responses to “How Not To Warm Up Honey

  1. OMG! What a mess, eh? But the story did make me chuckle. Sorry. 🙂 And thanks for the tip! Now I’ll know never to use the nuker to warm honey.

  2. Thank you for this. It’s always good to have the voice of experience telling us what to avoid and why.

  3. It happened to me. When I opened the microwave door the little bear exploded and I got burned on my face, fortunally nothing major.

Leave a Reply

