Tomato Tuesday: Homemade Tomato Juice

Generally I’m a reluctant tomato juice drinker, opting for it only when served fortified and with a celery stalk.  This tomato juice recipe may make a sober tomato juice drinker out of me.  It’s rich with a roasted tomato and salty celery flavor.  Wow, if it taste this great straight imagine what a shot of vodka, pickled okra and a dash of Worcestershire will do for it.

Today’s recipe comes from the lovely Elise Bauer at Simply Recipes.  I made only slight alternations to Elise’ original recipe — I left out the Tabasco and used fresh green onions (white part only) from my local farmer’s market.  I like my tomato juice to have some pulp so I used the 3 mm disk (for thick vegetable soups) on my new Rosle food mill.

The recipe makes about 1 quart and, according to Elise, will last in the refrigerator for about a week.  You can also freeze your juice.  I sterilized Ball freezer jars by running them through the dishwasher then poured in the warm tomato juice and sealed.  This summer, while fresh tomatoes are plentiful, I plan on making and freezing more juice so I can be fully stocked for a year’s worth of brunches and Bloody Mary bars.

Cooked tomato, onion and celery waiting to be juiced.

Homemade Tomato Juice

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds very ripe garden tomatoes, cored, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups chopped celery with leaves
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 2 Tbsp sugar (to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch black pepper
  • A couple shakes of Tabasco sauce, about 6-8 drops (to taste)

Method

  1. Put all ingredients into a large non-reactive pot (use stainless steel, not aluminum).  Bring to a simmer and cook, uncovered, until mixture is completely soupy, about 25 minutes.
  2. Force mixture through a sieve, chinoise, or food mill.  Cool completely.  Store covered and chilled.  Will last for about 1 week in the refrigerator.

Makes about 1 quart.

2 responses to “Tomato Tuesday: Homemade Tomato Juice

  1. I would cann this istead of freezing, unless you are useing only for cooking, you almost have a v8 juice here

  2. Pingback: Tomato Beer « Spoon And Chair

Leave a Reply

