Organizing with Shoe Bags

Napkin rings, organized and ready to party.

I am on a mission to get my life under control.  I’ve reluctantly accepted that crazy is the new work life normal so now I’m thinking about what I can do in the other areas of my life to make the crazy a bit more bearable.  One of those things is organization.  Perhaps it’s a symptom of my serious case of Martha Stewart Disease (MSD) but I love to be able to open a closet and find things and to not spend my morning hunting and searching.   So, this winter when it’s too cold to be out and about, I’m spending some of my weekends organizing and, let’s hope, bringing some calm to a crazy life.

I’m start slow and working my way up to some really big projects.  First up is using one of my favorite organizing tools — over the door shoe bags — to get a few things in order.

Scarfs, gloves, hats and aprons organized and easy to find.

In the winter keeping track of gloves and scarfs has always been a hassle.  Usually my scarfs are in my closet upstairs and my gloves are stuffed into various coat pockets – if I’m lucky.  This year it dawned on me, hang a shoe bag over the closet door.  Finally, everything is in one place!  Plus, there are a few extra pockets for rolling up kitchen aprons and the random cat toy. Beyond an obsession with organization, another symptom of MSD is the collection of napkin rings, place card holders, place card trinkets or table seating gifts, napkins, tablecloths… well, you get the point.  So, as you can imagine, space for storing all of these entertaining accoutrements is getting tight (solving this problem would fall under one of the afore-mentioned “big” organizing projects).  Over the door shoe organizer to the rescue!

Sorting out a tangle of tights.

And, last but not least, back to that pesky crazy work problem.  Let’s get one thing straight, I am never looking for a reason to get to work early.  But, I do look for ways not to be late — there is a difference.  One of those ways is using a shoe bag organizer to keep my tights and hose in order.  I prefer the plastic shoe bag pockets for this task because they are smooth and thus don’t snag my tights.

Make fun of the labels if you must but at 7:00 a.m. all dark tights and hose look-alike.  All it takes is one day of wearing blue hose with black shoes to make you a label lover.

Other Ideas:

How about hanging a shoe bag in your pantry to take care of all of those random mix pouches, spices and dried food or half-opened bags of rice, dried beans and nuts?

Reader’s Digest, Organize 6 Ways With Shoe Bags

Creative Organizing with An Ordinary Shoe Bag from Allison Carter of The Professional Organizer.

How have you used shoe bags and the backs of closet doors to bring order to your life?

10 responses to “Organizing with Shoe Bags

  1. I have one that is on a hanger–I have it in the closet to organize hose/tights. No labels, but the top row are black tights, next row black sheer/gray, next nude, bottom row brown tights and hose.

    Great organizing tool, I agree!

  2. Organizing cat toys… a futile task in our house. But I will completely admit that I’ve pulled the wrong color tights out of the drawer and worn them to work – now I look closely with a flashlight before putting them on!

  3. I would love to do this to organize my kitchen tool drawer. I usually get so frustrated trying to find things I end up tossing everything onto the counter. Now, if only I had a closet in the kitchen to hang it on…

  4. Pingback: Spring Cleaning – Closet Organization | Spoon And Chair

  5. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that,
    wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

