Herbs Springs Perennial

Oregano is thriving on the first day of Spring.

Yeah Spring!  Today is the first day of spring, are you feeling it where you live or are you still seeing snow outside of your window?   Here in Zone 7 we’ve had almost 3 weeks of warmish weather and my patio plants and herbs are loving it.

Curly Parsley slowly starts waking up.

Last year I was inspired by Martha Stewart’s Herb Garden at the New York Botanical Garden and decided to plant my patio garden in all herbs or edible plants.  Not only was in fantastic to have all of those fresh herbs available for cooking but the color and texture of the foliage was beautiful and they smelled amazing.

Will my mint be ready for Juleps on May 7th?

One of my favorite plantings is a big rosemary bush that sits right beside my front door.  I love brushing by it and taking in the fantastic smell of rosemary whenever I come and go.

Place a large rosemary bush by your front door, enjoy the smell each time you pass by.

Perhaps the best part of my herb patio garden is that most herbs are perennial meaning, they come back each year.  This makes perennials and herbs a great planting option if you are limited  in either time or garden budget.  Sure, there are always a few plants that don’t make it through the winter.  Some of my fringed lavender didn’t survive, I lost some of my thyme and I’ll need to replant my basil but the vast majority of herbs are back.

Lemon balm almost ready for summer's iced tea.

Another good and inexpensive perennial is the chrysanthemum or “mum.”  Did you know that those mums you buy at the grocery store every fall can be replanted?  I have three “grocery store” mums that have thrived  in my garden for the last two years.

My replanted "grocery store" mums are thriving.

Do you have a perennial herb garden?  What herbs do you grow every summer? What’s your favorite way to use them?

Want to start your own herb or perennial garden?  Here are a few websites and resources for inspiration and information:

Websites & Blogs

Books

6 responses to “Herbs Springs Perennial

  1. So happy to see your herbs coming back. There’s nothing that makes me for more like a real cook than being able to go out and pick fresh herbs for dinner.
    I just bought something called Boxwood basil this weekend. So far it just looks like miniature basil. Should be interesting to see what happens with it.

    • Keep me posted on the Boxwood basil — I think basil is best when the leaves are small and tender, the big leaves don’t have as much flavor. Wonder if your “miniature” basil leaves will be tender & tastey?

  2. Pingback: Spring Jinx! | Spoon And Chair

  3. This is an activity that certainly takes patience and a lot of practice.
    However, a good boxer will be in good enough shape to go
    the distance for all the rounds and let the decision go to the judges.
    As you practice increasing your agility, there are lots of exercises that will
    help you on the soccer field.

  4. Deciding on a light yogurt may perhaps enable you to fight off hunger pangs due to its mix of protein
    and carbohydrate. Unable to maintain the weight lost makes the effort of losing weight pointless.
    System support is good, the format presentation is excellent,
    the access to the program is automatically, and the price is totally affordable , so you have many good
    reasons to consider this practical system as a very good option.

  5. If you want to take a great deal from this article then
    you have to apply such methods to your won weblog.

Leave a Reply

